5 Days of Wolfberry Recipes

As I’ve stated in my other blog, Outside the Cave, I am done with weird food restrictions. So hear me out on this new thing I’m doing. Better yet, listen to an expert: https://youtu.be/KG3dLZ1gwtw. In this video, Marcella Vonn Harting explains the health benefits of the wolfberry, which Young Living sells in the form of dried berries as well as in a delicious juice blend called Ningxia Red. Vonn Harting holds two PhDs (integrative health and psychoneurology). These were my biggest takeaways: “…it takes 180 days to regenerate your liver… people who did the 180 day challenge experienced improved physical and emotional health, increased energy, weight loss, and improved sleep.”

I couldn’t sign up fast enough for the 180 day challenge. I’m expecting a shipment of Ningxia Red tomorrow, but I started the challenge 5 days ago using the wolfberries in my pantry. The challenge is to drink or eat one serving a day of wolfberries for 180 days. It only makes sense to not sabotage the good stuff with unhealthy eating. So I am resolving to keep it as healthy as possible while adding the good stuff. No crazy restrictions, no avoiding social gatherings. (Wishful thinking for post pandemic life). Eating wolfberries lends itself beautifully to healthy eating, as one meal a day will revolve around them. This is what I’ve cooked up so far. According to package directions, 1/4 cup is one serving.

Day 1 – oatmeal with wolfberries (cook the berries with the oats

Day 2 – wolfberry tea (Pour boiling water over dried berries. Drink the tea, then eat the berries.)

Day 3 – wolfberry pancakes (use whole wheat or grain free “flour”)

Day 4 – chocolate chia pudding with wolfberries.

Directions:

Whisk 1/4 cup cacao powder with 4 Tbsp maple syrup, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1.5 cups unsweetened milk alternative, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/4 cup dried wolfberries, and 1/2 cup chia seeds. Let it set overnight in refrigerator.

Day 5 – wolfberry porridge

Directions:

Combine 3/4 c milk alternative with 3 Tbsp almond flour and 1/4 cup dried wolfberries. Bring to boil, then simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat, and slowly whisk in one beaten egg until thickened. Season with salt and honey.

Yum!

Who’s ready to join me on this journey?

2 thoughts on “5 Days of Wolfberry Recipes

  1. Pingback: I Gave Up Alcohol For Lent, and Here’s What Happened – Outside the Cave

Leave a comment